top of page


Induction Ceremony to Take Place in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday, October 19th

The 2024 Ceremony Returns to Disney+ and ABC

Inductees Announced Live on ‘American Idol’ by Ryan Seacrest

and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Lionel Richie

NEW YORK, NY (April 21, 2024) — The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation announced tonight the 2024 Inductees for music’s highest honor in the following categories:

Performer Category:

Mary J. Blige


Dave Matthews Band


Peter Frampton

Kool & The Gang

Ozzy Osbourne

A Tribe Called Quest

Musical Influence Award:

Alexis Korner

John Mayall

Big Mama Thornton

Musical Excellence Award:

Jimmy Buffett


Dionne Warwick

Norman Whitfield

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

Suzanne de Passe

The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction will be live on Saturday, October 19th at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio. The 2024 ceremony will once again stream live on Disney+ with a special airing on ABC at a later date and available on Hulu the next day.

“Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving amalgam of sounds that impacts culture and moves generations,” said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “This diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps.”

The Inductees were announced live on ABC this evening by Ryan Seacrest and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Lionel Richie during the “Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Night” episode of “American Idol,” where the Top 14 American Idol finalists took on songs from legendary Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees as America voted live for the Top 12. The episode will be available tomorrow on Hulu.

The Induction categories include:

Performers: artists who have created music whose originality, impact, and influence has changed the course of rock & roll.

Musical Influence Award: artists whose music and performance style have directly influenced, inspired, and evolved rock & roll and music impacting youth culture.

Musical Excellence Award: given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music.

Ahmet Ertegun Award: non-performing industry professionals who have had a major influence on the creative development and growth of rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture.

To be eligible, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. 4 out of the 8 Inductees in the Performer category were on the ballot for the first time, including Cher, Foreigner, Kool & the Gang and Peter Frampton.

Ticket on sale information will be announced at a later date. Select Rock & Roll Hall of Fame donors and members receive exclusive Induction ticket opportunities. Donate or join by June 30 to be eligible. Visit to learn more.



bottom of page